8.06.2012

Last blog.. I think.

I've been using this blog as an outlet for stress and also as an opportunity to turn the mirror on itself. I'm really interested in self actualization and this class helped me a lot. This class and the lone psychology class I took have provided me with puzzle piece like information. What I take from the class I can use to figure out who I am and why I feel and do the things I do.

On that same note one line from class resonated with me and it was something like this:

No greater connection can be made than when someone connects with you inner monologue.
For me, that connection is made mostly through music. I link memories in my life with songs that I was listening to when it happened. I will forever remember the people who introduced me to my favorite bands.

I only have come across three bands who really get my inner most feelings and Id like to introduce them to you if you do not know them already.

1.) Fall Out Boy

The first song I ever came across by Fall Out Boy was Sugar We're Goin' Down. I saw that video my sophomore year of high school and since that point I bought all of their CD's and I love every song they have ever made. By far though, my favorite song of their's is Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner. (yes I know that is a quote from dirty dancing. A lot of their titles have funny meanings)

Fall Out Boy brings me back to simpler times in high school before I had a job and I just hung out with friends. I absolutely love how the lyrics don't just say lets go burn some bridges... but he actually illustrates it for you... lets drink down some gin and kerosene and spit on bridges, light a match to leave me be. Beautiful.


2.) Brand New

I have only recently been introduced to these guys but they have been around for a while. I love almost all of their music but it's on the angry depressing side of the music spectrum. Still I love them any way. Right now my favorite song by them is called Archers. Brand new helped me get through last semester when I too was a Failure By Design


3.) Walk The Moon

This band.... I have no words. They just came out (officially) in June 2012 even though they had independently released the same album in ohio like three years ago. They are great. All their songs speak to (for lack of a better expression) my soul. Anna Sun was dubbed one of the 30 summer songs of 2011 by some cool magazine that I can't remember and don't care to look up. Their sense of humor is great and I totally get it. They create these funny music videos, some of which seemingly have no relation to the song at all. The first video I saw is called Shiver Shiver and it is just this guy dancing in a parking lot, not even the lead singer mind you. It is great. Finally, one of their more goofy videos is for the song Quesadilla.

All these bands connect with me on a deep level of some sort. Sometimes I don't even know what they are saying but I love the music. I need music, If I don't have it my world seems empty and colorless. If I could have a soundtrack playing in the background of my life I'm pretty sure it would always consist of these three artists songs in some random order that went along with what was happening.


I have no idea where this post is going to end. Maybe if anyone has suggestions of band I should listen too feel free to post, also I hope you enjoyed all the videos!

8.05.2012

Fan Art!






So...  I'm pretty proud of myself. I put a video into my blog and I am not a computer science major. Took me about 10 minutes to figure it out but here it is. This is a great video about sharing and collaboration and how the internet is letting regular people like you and me influence what goes out into the world like say a special episode of Adventure Time based on fan art. I really enjoyed it and it came from a really cool site. Welp, here you go! Hope you enjoy it

8.04.2012

Graduation

So I'm not sure if it is the high amount of caffeine coursing through my veins, the lack of sleep, or if it's the 12th consecutive hour of staring at VectorWorks, but I just got really sad when I realized in a half an hour I will only have a week left of school. Even typing that I'm starting to tear up a bit. My entire life has revolved around school since before I can remember. I'm scared to go out into the real world; I feel like I'm not ready yet. I think I will miss studio over anything else. The crazy late nights, how crazy people get really late at night, and the crazy stories I've heard from over the partitions *mainly Sean and Casey :)*. I wasn't close to everyone in my major, but they all have become like family to me. We've struggled and succeeded together, we've cried and celebrated, and we've made it to the end in one piece somehow. I know there will be collaborations in the office setting but I have a feeling it will not be the same as studio.

I so badly wish I had one more semester :'(

And at the same time... I don't :)

7.31.2012

I'm an Addict!!!

I just realized that I not only want Facebook.... I actually *gulp* need it.

I recently deactivated my Facebook account for the remainder of the semester because everytime I clicked the safari bubble to go online to look up some materials or find a chair for my project, I would soon find myself perusing my newsfeed. Sometimes I would end up on Facebook and not even remember why I came online in the first place! This started to worry me.. a lot actually. So I decided (with inspiration for an olympian athlete and also a fellow studio member) to shut it down.

after about 5 days without Facebook I can honestly say I feel like a drug addict. I have this nagging feeling like I'm missing out on things or the strangest things happen to me and I (seemingly) have no one to tell. I also feel really lonely and cut off from my friends who other than Facebook I would probably only be in contact with 3 days out of a year. I get the urge to log onto Facebook about 5 - 8 times a day I would estimate. It is seriously insane and I am ashamed of myself. I have a file on my computer that I am saving things so that once I do reactivate my page I can post things.... it's so embarrassing.


Can I really be addicted to Facebook? 


Can a person actually become addicted to an action? 


In all actuality I mainly use it so I don't feel so lonely when I am in studio late at night with no one around or if I've been cooped up with homework in my dorm for weeks on end. I don't feel like such a prisoner or slave to my project when I can check out what other people are doing. I can pretend that I am still connected and having fun. I almost start to live vicariously through other people who actually are having fun out in the real world. Its pretty weird but it actually makes me feel better when I can see what other people are doing. I find now I tend to bother my friends more. It's kind of funny that I actually think it's bothering to send 5 texts. but it kind of is. if everyone I knew sent me a minimum of 5 texts a day I would have a full inbox by noon. it just isn't possible to stay that close with 30 people, or 50 or 100 (or 600 for those of you who are REALLY popular).


I don't know how to end this entry except to say that I miss my FB account... Aug 13th at 6 P.M. I'll be back!

7.26.2012

Jesus Christ


"Well Jesus Christ I’m not scared to die, I’m a little bit scared of what comes after. Do I get the gold chariot? Do I float through the ceiling? Do I divide and fall apart?
'Cause my bright is too slight to hold back all my dark
And the ship went down in sight of land
And at the gates does Thomas ask to see my hands"

(sorry for such a long quote)

I try to question everything. That’s why I don’t believe in God. God is absolute. The end all, be all. If we all of humanity had no questions then we would never get any answers (or inventions, or technology, or any innovation what so ever). I am afraid of what happens to me when I die but I’m not afraid enough to accept any answer that might ease my mind. In fact, I would rather believe this is the only life you get because it would bring about a better appreciation of everything. If you know your time is limited, one tries to be the best they can be, to see all they can and basically get as much as they can out of this crazy, organized, random, chaos, of semi-linked events. 

I can relate anything back to a video game or movie -I’d like to think it is a hidden talent of mine- but It is just like in the game Mass Effect, the Asari race lives for centuries and they are still kids in a sense when they are under 100 years old or so. They see us as sort of bullies in the universe, we run around and get what we want, but it is because we need to get things done in a short time. As a singular person, we don’t have very long to live so we have a crazy ambition that other races do not posses/need. They have eons to get their problems solved. 

Even in the movie Troy, there was a quote that stuck with me:

“I'll tell you a secret, something they don't teach you in your temple. The gods envy us. They envy us because we're mortal, because any moment might be our last. Everything is more beautiful because we're doomed. You will never be lovelier than you are now, and we will never be here again.”



That is probably one of the most beautiful arrangement of words that I had heard up until that point in my life, and it doesn’t hurt that Brad Pitt spoke them ;)

The Internet


The internet is a strange, wonderful, terrifying, mind altering thing... I probably couldn't live without it now that I've had it for so long. I'm a cyborg :( 

7.23.2012

Cyborg?

Just because we discovered the earth is't actually flat, doesn't mean we still don't call it earth. the properties may change and our perception of a thing may evolve but we don't change the name. We are not cyborgs... we are just enhanced. we are still human at the core. The thing that makes us human is intangible just like gravity, or dark matter. I don't think it is about gender, art, or any physical thing (almost on a daily basis I have an argument about if a person is a man or woman so theres that.)

7.10.2012

The Matrix

So this thought has been plaguing me for sometime and I have no idea if it is true or pessimistic or what... but here it is.... yet again a quote from a movie..
"I'd like to share a revelation that I’ve had during my time here. It came to me when I tried to classify your species, and I realized that humans are not actually mammals. Every mammal on this planet instinctively develops a natural equilibrium with the surrounding environment; but you humans do not. Instead you multiply, and multiply, until every resource is consumed. The only way for you to survive is to spread to another area. There is another organism on this planet that follows the same pattern... a virus. Human beings are a disease, a cancer on this planet, you are a plague, and we... are the cure."  - Agent Smith
 The Matrix has to be one of my favorite movies ever, and every time I watch it I hear Agent Smith say this to Morpheus and it bugs me for days afterwards. It is such an insightful and scary observation and i do not know what to make of it. Could it be true that all we humans really are is a plague on a normally balanced planet?

I keep wondering if we were just a mistake and we don't have a place in this world. Maybe (like a virus) we will keep on multiplying until we kill off the host (the earth)

Kind of a weird thought but If we don't change our ways of thinking, I don't see much hope for the human race or anyother life form on this planet for that matter.

6.30.2012

I was a Teenage Anarchist

So last class I went to we talked a bit about the angry punk rock movement. About how these angsty teens tried to change society by creating angry music that put down cops and the "man". Well I just found a movie by accident called The other F word and I think it is fantastic. I made a statement in class that went sort of like this:

You are right, I don't think I will understand the punk rock age because I don't know why they have to be so angry and volatile to get a point across

So I still stand by my statement and I encourage everyone to watch this movie because it almost answers my question. Basically the other F word is father. These punk rockers rebelled for years against the thing they have now become: parents. One of the very last lines in the trailer I watched is:

"I want to keep holding on to the feeling that we can change the world, but maybe the way we change it is by raising better kids"

So maybe we can change the world with hugs after all...

6.28.2012

I LOVE TED

It is so hard for me to pin down something to blog about   -_____-  but I have been thinking lately about a question that gets asked frequently. What do you want to do before you die. I think everyone subconsciously thinks about this every day since we are constant;y reminded of our own mortality on a daily bases when we watch the news. I have figured out what I want to do before I die and it is so vague but so powerful at the same time.

I want to present an idea on TED talks before I die. I don't care what it is about but I want it to be of the up most importance. I have so many passions and so many influenced pulling me in every direction that I just hope one day I can make something happen and it will be so profound that I can present it :)

I mean.. Who doesn't want to change the world?

6.19.2012

Ok Go!

If this video isn't the epitome of art and technology than I don't know what is. Also I do not own this nor did  make it, Im just sharing the youtube video with the world... or my three followers which include myself... -______-


6.17.2012

Second Life is twice as boring as real life...

I am sorry to report that I hate Second Life. I surprised myself to be totally honest. I thought I would love it. I would not classify myself as a hardcore gamer but I do love to play RPG's and some MMORPG's like World of Warcraft. And yes I do realize that second life is not meant to be a game and I did try very hard to keep that in mind while attempting to figure out this virtual world, but as I said before I just do not like Second Life one bit and I have a couple of reasons why...


1.) What is up with the graphics? Seriously guys...

I get that this program is free and the virtual world is huge and all that jazz, but seriously? Come on, I have played NES games that looked more realistic than this virtual reality. I have also played free games that moved 100X smoother than Second Life. It really is one of the biggest hindrances for me. And not only does the site have horrible graphics that load slower than a herd of turtles stampeding through molasses, but my character runs so ridiculously slow I think I might get an anxiety attack if I play for too long.


2.) So... Bored... Need... Mission... Goal... Something... ZZZZZ

Just like in real life, I need something I am aiming for. A driving force behind everything I do. I don't really have anything like a goal or mission in this Second Life... Or do I? I feel like I am walking around aimlessly hoping to find something interesting or fun. I found a huge flower which kept my attention for all of a millisecond... it was pretty. Aside from the assignment given to me in class I don't see a reason to continue exploring or playing at all.


3.) No Jump button? WTH!

Seems like a very small thing to some people, but to not be able to make my character jump is driving me completely insane. After playing many many games that have you jump over things or climb up stuff to find hidden items its almost second nature for me to hit my space button and see my character hurl its little body through the air... but not in Second Life. In this world you can walk, run, and even fly... but no jumping allowed. UGHHH! What kind of purgatory have I landed in???


4.) Kind of branches off of #2 but... Why even play second life when I have my own real life?

I just do not see the point/fun of having another life just like the one I already have. See, when I play a game, its to escape the life I have now for something cooler, more exciting and more fantastical than sitting on my couch bored because I have no money. I play because I want to be a space hero and save billions upon billions of creatures from certain death. I play because I want to exercise my mind by solving puzzles and thinking critically or making impulse decisions while in combat. I play to feel important and powerful and have a sense of control over my virtual world. I most certainly do not play to be a plain old human like I am in my real boring life. I like to live in a fantasy world where dragons, elves, and monsters exist. I like games that let me do things I would never be able to do in my real life without taking some hallucinatory drugs. And besides the fact that I am just weird and like mythical creatures, Everything I enjoy in my real life is a physical activity. I like sports and hanging out, road trips, drawing, cuddling, and just being in physical contact with the world around me.

This leads me to my final point.

There is nothing for me in the world of Second Life...
aside from the fact that I could (and did) create an avatar that is a dog, I really have no interest in the program. I know that I can be someone else and I can go places that I never would have been able to go (like the Sistine Chapel), but that is exactly the reason I love living life. Its the challenges that keep me going. the game of 'will I make enough money to pay my rent?', or 'will I land an awesome job that will intern help me to support my hobbies like surfing, snowboarding and traveling?' or even 'will I ever be able to see the Sistine chapel?'. Also, I don't care what you say, until you have walked inside that chapel in person, you have not really experienced it.

This is a quote from Robin Williams' Character in Good Will Hunting:


This is where the lecture happened... they look happy

"So if I asked you about art, you'd probably give me the skinny on every art book ever written. Michelangelo (art), you know a lot about him. Life's work, political aspirations, him and the pope, sexual orientations, the whole works, right? But I'll bet you can't tell me what it smells like in the Sistine Chapel. You've never actually stood there and looked up at that beautiful ceiling; seen that. If I ask you about women (love), you'd probably give me a syllabus about your personal favorites. You may have even been laid a few times. But you can't tell me what it feels like to wake up next to a woman and feel truly happy. You're a tough kid. And I'd ask you about war, you'd probably throw Shakespeare (more art) at me, right, "once more unto the breach dear friends." But you've never been near one. You've never held your best friend's head in your lap, watch him gasp his last breath looking to you for help. I'd ask you about love, you'd probably quote me a sonnet. But you've never looked at a woman and been totally vulnerable. Known someone that could level you with her eyes, feeling like God put an angel on earth just for you. Who could rescue you from the depths of hell. And you wouldn't know what it's like to be her angel, to have that love for her, be there forever, through anything, through cancer. And you wouldn't know about sleeping sitting up in the hospital room for two months, holding her hand, because the doctors could see in your eyes, that the terms "visiting hours" don't apply to you. You don't know about real loss, 'cause it only occurs when you've loved something more than you love yourself. And I doubt you've ever dared to love anybody that much. And look at you... I don't see an intelligent, confident man... I see a cocky, scared sh*tless kid. But you're a genius Will. No one denies that. No one could possibly understand the depths of you. But you presume to know everything about me because you saw a painting of mine, and you ripped my f*cking life apart. You're an orphan right? 
This is the painting

(Will nods)


You think I know the first thing about how hard your life has been, how you feel, who you are, because I read Oliver Twist? Does that encapsulate you? Personally... I don't give a shit about all that, because you know what, I can't learn anything from you, I can't read in some fuckin' book. Unless you want to talk about you, who you are. Then I'm fascinated. I'm in. But you don't want to do that do you sport? You're terrified of what you might say. Your move, chief." 




I personally love the line about smelling the Sistine Chapel. I also love this movie. Basically the idea is that you can read all the books you want and run through all the virtual realities you want but to be there, in the very place that the magnificent mural was painted does not compare to you looking at it through a screen and it never will. You don't get the goosebumps from experiencing the real thing. It's just not the same, and I want to go there one day and smell it for myself... then go get a bunch of caramels with Matt Damon :)



6.08.2012

Why Can't You Just Be Happy?

I know it's totally just a movie but this one line is too true to ignore. In the Matrix, Agent Smith explains a little about the computer program all of the trapped humans think their "real" life is. He says that they tried many versions of the program. They had peaceful utopian worlds with no war or destruction but we rejected them all. We accepted this world of pain and misery because with out it we have no way to measure happiness or reality for that matter. It's what drives us to be better. We work hard so that we will be prosperous and happy, not poor and sad. What the hell would we do everyday if we were just happy go lucky all the time? I would be sitting on a beach somewhere sippin' on a Mai Tai. actually ... I think I just might do that.

So no, we can never just be happy. It would bring our world to a stand still. I'm happy with my life but i still am not happy all day long, things aggravate me, I get hurt, someone dies, arguments, rambling... ugh I don't know. Maybe I'm a pessimist (or a realist.. it's the same thing).

6.06.2012

Evidence... Why can't I take anything on faith alone?

So.. I have been procrastinating once again and I have been listening to TED talks instead of putting my floor plans into Vectorworks. *Sigh* Just something about wednesdays makes me not want to work. So anyway, I'm watching these talks, which I started out watching one about will our kids be a different species than us. It is about a theory that we are currently experiencing rapid brain evolution that could explain the rise of autism and the like. The main premise of the talk was that we are taking in so much data we are becoming hyper sensitive and our brains are in the process of dealing with that. This led me to looking at the TED talks about education and how we learn because I am designing a museum which I am planning to employ a new-er way of learning. I want to integrate games into the education process, kids learn better when the learning process is fun... and what is more fun than playing a game?... Nothing, thats what. I found that this isn't such a novel idea. I watched about 3 TED talks on education through games and interactive learning techniques when I realized something...

Everyone in those videos had a reason for believing that games were the best way to teach.

Evidence

I have always been praised when thinking logically about spending money, topics of discussion in school, designing interior spaces (evidence based design), dealing with relationships (problematic, plutonic and romantic), and probably more aspects.. BUT, when it came to religion... I get called a cynic and close minded when I say I see no reason in believing in God. Why is that?

When it comes to religion I know I have to tread very lightly so as not to offend anyone's beliefs. All I am talking about in this blog are my own beliefs, which do not directly relate to anyone else on the planet. Just me...

With that said, I do not believe in a god or any of the current religions there are out there in the world today. I do not belong to a religion and I don't know who is correct, or who the "real" chosen ones are. I know I was supposed to be catholic (I think) but I refused, even as a child, to go to church. I just cannot bring myself to believe that an intelligent being created the universe. Plain and simple. Especially not when all the evidence points to the contrary (evolution).

You might say I have no faith. That even though there is no proof of God I should just believe that there is a higher power or a god-like figure watching over me.

George Micheal's got some... why don't I have any :/

Every other aspect of my life depends on definitive proof, but religion needs none? Why?

If you look at the romans and greeks and... lets say "primitive"... cultures, they created religions based on things they didn't understand. Strange happenings that just couldn't be explained with theknowedge they had, so they tossed there hands in the air and said it must be the gods. But now that we have been proving things through advanced methods of a scientific nature... might that mean (just like marriage) that religion may be phased out of our evolving society?


I do not pretend to know the answers, I am merely questioning things I do not understand. For all I know the Mormons probably got it right (thank you South Park).


If stagnation is bad for the progression of humans.. isn't it bad to stop trying to find the answers and simply say that strange happenings are "a sign from god" or that it was a "miracle"?






In the words of Sherlock Holmes, "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts."

He says this after Watson tries to get him to believe in a super natural cause for a death in the movie. Holmes replies with that little beauty of a quote... but if you think about it... can't the same be said about religion?

I'm not sure, and I will probably not know the answer to this question until I die and see Saint Peter and the pearly white gates receding into the distance as I plummet into an excerpt out of Dante's Inferno. Hopefully it's a lot like the game.. and we've come full circle :)

Now thats my kind of religion right there.



6.04.2012

Cracked Knowledge

I love cracked.com because they blog about everything and ... they like to blog in lists. I'm not sure why but that makes it cooler. Any way, while reading through the titled under the subject of Cracked Science, I came across an articled titled 5 Absurd Sci-Fi Scenarios That Science is Actually Working On. If even any of what is talked about in this article is true than I no longer want to be a part of this society... Or maybe I do. I feel like we are moving so fast without even asking if what we are doing is morally wrong. It's aslo highly possible that the government has been hiding loads of information from us. either way, you should really read this article and, if nothing else, get a chuckle from the snarky/sarcastic writing style they are known for.

6.03.2012

Ughhh, No Sex Please I'm Too Tired

I can't sleep and I don't ant to work on my thesis project. I don't know why but I'm just not in the mood and I have nothing to show for my meeting tomorrow at 8 A.M.








I also worked earlier today so I'm emotionally and physically done. I don't enjoy being around too many people for extended periods of time. I like being alone better.






All I really want right now is to play my video game and escape into a world were I am an awesome heroine who saves the galaxy from the destruction of synthetic-organic beings by uniting all of the alien/human/AI races in an all out suicide mission... sounds a lot more interesting than my real life... and I get unlimited do overs if I die.



The game that I am referring if you do not know is Mass Effect and at the current moment it happens to be (in my opinion) the greatest game ever made (aside from the worse ending ever made). The story line is brilliantly written and it actually parallels real problems/threats that we face today. The creation of true AI and what happens when the fight back, the combination of synthetic and organic life and is that the way of the future, and (above all else) humanity discovering its place among the (previously unknown) galactic community (There must be life out there, we just need to find that Mass Relay!).

All the races.. well.. almost. The Geth are missing (AI)

I just realized while reading No Sex Please, Were Post-Human, that the game is even greater than I previously thought. Some of the papers and studies that were referenced in the excerpt I believe the writers of Mass Effect we influenced by heavily. Its late right now and I'm too tired to give examples so I will return to this later.

On a side note, No Sex Please, Were Post-Human was so incredibly hard for me to read. By the time I reached the end of a sentence I had forgotten what the beginning was about. I had to literally read it out loud and take notes/draw diagrams to decode the meaning of some sentences.






...But I guess if I had the vocabulary and knowledge, I would flaunt it too. :)

EXTREMESTS: don't read this post!

I have heard about so many barbie controversies that I can barely count them all on one hand. I've heard of the unmarried barbie and the body shape of barbies and people who change their appearance to look like barbies, but I have yet to hear of anyone complain of the Ken dolls being too fit or not representing a real body type (or not wearing his wedding ring *tisk tisk tisk*). He has perfectly toned abs, calves, and biceps, but... the absence of genitalia... sorry to be lewd but its true. If you have ever changed your doll's clothes you know what I'm talking about.

But why are we all up in arms that these dolls are not anatomically correct? So what if they are not the right proportions and not every girl or boy will look like that when they grow up. Thats just how we show that something isn't human, we dumb down the features. look at Raggedy Anne and cabbage patch dolls...



Anne looks NOTHING like a person at all and the cabbage patch girl is short and round and doesn't have the right proportions at all... but no one cares about that do they.

Long story short we need to step up the parenting in this country. Instead of kids learning their information from T.V how about when we buy our kids barbies we talk to them to make sure that they are aware that these dolls are not a model for what ALL of humanity should look. It is just a TOY... not reality.

This argument can be said for many things but I don't want to get myself into a frenzy.

Lets all take a little bit of responsibility for our selves and tell your kids what is real or fake please so were not all messed up when we're grown.

6.01.2012

Barbies

I will never ever ever get plastic surgery other than to correct a physical ailment (i.e.: breast reduction because of back problems). I am by no means fully comfortable with my body 100% which is really sad to admit but even so, I am never going to let someone make me feel so bad about myself that I would alter my appearance with a KNIFE. Also the fact that men are not worried and/or sickened by the fact that women will do this to make themselves more attractive is even scarier to me.

Also, just a little personal fact about me.. I would not date a person who has had cosmetic surgery to enhance a physical feature. If you don't love yourself than how can anyone else?

I may have a different perspective also because I was raised by my dad who is a think skinned portuguese man and my mom who is a tom boy and grew up playing tackle football and rugby with the boys. I was brought up to be proud and confident and I was told that if you be yourself and someone doesn't like what they see than they're not someone you want to have around anyway.

I sincerely hope I haven't offended anyone I know personally and everyone has their own opinion... I just happen to frown on this subject matter.

5.18.2012

Frankenstein Quote

While reading the book Frankenstein by Mary Shelly for the very first time I came across this quote and it really resonated with me.
Alas! Victor, when falsehood can look so much like truth, who can assure themselves of certain happiness?
The cause of this dialog was a false accusation of murder that led to the death of an innocent woman.

It's just a curious coincidence that I was thinking of this the other day. I am very intrigued by the ability to lie. No species does it quite like humans, and I sometimes wonder why we lie to each other. I obviously know the excuses that are given to justify the lies and I am by no means innocent of this crime, but I can't understand it.

The biggest lie that I can think of that hurts the most people physically and emotionally is the altering of images that are put into a magazine, mainly the woman figure. Why must we falsely enhance how we look? I cannot wrap my mind around this. As a young girl you see these images and try and aspire to look this way, not realizing that the woman are not even real. as a young boy you see these images and think this is what women should look like. Then you get 30 and 40 year old women with plastic surgery scars all over them and 50 year old men with 20 year old girl friends. Why do we need to lie about what we look like? Who started this?

Thankfully the French have decided to put an end to this madness. Check out the article for more information

Also if you have not seen the Dove Evolution video click here

5.13.2012

Perfection: Fact or Science Fiction

Perfection is defined as something that is completely free of faults or defects, or as close to flawless as possible. It is also defined as complete or finished... If there is one thing that life has taught me, it is that nothing is ever certain. To be finished or complete suggests there is nothing at all that you can do or change to make "it" any better. To me this just isn't possible.
Okay, I admit some things can be perfect like the mathematically perfect circle or the perfect cheeseburger or even the perfect person for you, but those are all figures of speech or personal opinions. I am talking about scientifically perfect beings or things here.

In my personal opinion which is based on nothing other than what I have learned in high school and by watching discovery channel and animal planet, I think in order for there to be organic perfection the earth and everything on it would need to be static. With all the climate changes (either man made or natural) and the changes of the seasons and even societal changes in human culture I think nothing really stays the same for very long so something that may be perfect right now may be obsolete in a few decades or so. If there were such a thing as perfection, there would be no need for evolution. We need change. It's how we grow, adapt, develop and thrive on this planet. As long as the world keeps turning and changing we will never be able to truly have perfection of anything.


*on a side note just to further prove my point, I watched a documentary about dinosaurs that lived on this planet way back in the day that had "perfectly" adapted to the climate and land that they lived in but when the continents started to shift they no longer could survive and they started to die off and other dino's and small mammals took their place or something like that*

In regards to human perfection, It is all a matter of perspective. As I said before, the term is usually used a figure of speech. Perfection in the eyes of one person can be totally different to someone else. Although the media has a strong hold over what we think the perfect woman should look like, not everyone shares the opinion. Even looking at the views of society over the years, our views and opinions have changed so drastically that to think perfection could truly exist in the eyes of humanity seems silly. Even if we could in theory create something that is perfect, would you even want it? If it is perfect that means it would never change, it would look the same forever and perform the same task forever. I find that very boring...

We've come so far, but we still have a ways to go.

So I guess what I am trying to say is that perfection is an impossibility at least in this universe and even if I could be perfect I would have to decline because it is the quirky things about everyone and everything that makes this world worth living in. Everyone and everything is perfectly imperfect... and that's the way it should be.

5.12.2012

Disclaimer

Being that this is my first post ever, I felt it would be appropriate to further describe myself and my idea for this blog. For months now I have been contemplating a change in my career path. Along with my passion for design, I have realized my second passion for writing. Writing has always come easier for me than speaking and I am able to express myself more clearly than if I had verbalized my thoughts. Maybe it's because of my fear of public speaking, or maybe because I can stop and edit my thoughts before making them public. Either way, the fact is that I love to analyze and write about... well, almost anything that interests me. I figure that I could combine my love of interior design/architecture with my ability to describe it in text and possibly find a job as a journalist for a design magazine or write a column in my local newspaper. with that said, this blog (I hope) will be a catalyst for me on my way to finding where I fit in this world of art and technology.